Liebster Award

In a rare occurrence I have been tagged in one of those meme-ish things to pass on, so here goes!

leibster-badge

Thanks to the wonderful Logan/Carnitas Fever at My Life in Scale for nominating my blog for this award thing. It’s supposed to help your blog gain visibility.

The rules:

  • Thank the person who nominated you and include a link back to them.
  • Answer the questions given to you.
  • Nominate bloggers and present them with questions of your own.

Most likely voluntary, and even if it isn’t no one can enforce it 😉 I’ll be answering the following questions.

Where are you from?

I am from the tiny sunny island of Singapore. Okay this answer alone is too short! Actually I have been living in Japan for over two years. As a geek interested in things like anime, plastic models and toys, this is practically a dream come true. In my first year I lived in Chiba Prefecture which was east of Tokyo and Akihabara, the mecca of all things geek, was just a 1-2 hour train ride away. Of course I went there countless times, and now I really miss the place. While it’s a bit touristy, I could also visit Nakano Broadway which is slightly further away. And of course, hang out everywhere else all over Tokyo. At the end of 2014 I had to move across the country to Fukuoka, where I now spend most of my weekends downtown in Fukuoka City which is an hour’s train ride away because I am right at the southernmost prefectural border. While there aren’t any huge geek-oriented spots like Akiba, I’m still in Japan and burning all my money by shopping on Amazon Japan. I have less than half a year left before I have to move back home. I’m gonna miss Japan and being able to live alone.

What is your favorite movie franchise?

This is a tough question… I like the Marvel Cinematic Universe especially the Captain America movies, and Star Wars is close behind.

Have you read (comic, book, graphic novel, manga) anything good lately?

Unfortunately I am not an avid comic/graphic novel/manga reader, and I only read when commuting downtown during the weekends. I read Frank Herbert’s Dune not too long ago and I liked the setting of the story. The Martian by Andy Weir (and the movie) was quite good too. And being a William Gibson fan I recommend The Peripheral. He always seems to be able to predict technology trends in the future.

Where do you see your blog in 5 years?

Honestly, I don’t see it going anywhere at all. I don’t make a large presence online by promoting my stuff or posting on other social networks, and I can see it in the gradually declining view count. Sometimes I see my pictures or links to this blag posted on 4chan (whoever out there doing it, thank you lol) but most replies to the posts tend to go along the lines of “nice try”.

Most of the bloggers in the same genre have also left for greener pastures. Perhaps blogging is passe in today’s social media and it seems like people are preferring to do it on Facebook as they somewhat have control over their audience. Even with one post a week, sometimes I find it hard to cook up new content because I don’t buy enough new toys and without my tools of the trade I can’t really bury myself in model making either.

Seeing as I don’t know many active bloggers now, I’ll try my luck and nominate the following folks.

Aya at A’s Toy Box

Hamstercorp at Polymer Chaos

Darkandchoco at Gunbies

My questions are:

What got you into blogging?

What’s your favourite cartoon/anime series?

What’s your favourite live-action TV series?

If you had to keep only three toys/figures/etc. in your collection, which ones would they be?

Hope you guys have fun like I did 😀

One thought on “Liebster Award”

Leave a Reply

