Japan Trip: Day 10 – Kamakura, Yokohama and No Camera

I finally brought along my tripod from this day onward even though it was rather late in the trip already. I was using the spare, fake battery for my camera and didn’t realize I left my freshly charged original battery back in the hostel room. And thanks to Murphy’s Law the fake battery decided to suddenly die in the morning. I only managed a few pictures.

We set out on a trip to Kamakura and Yokohama. The train ride to Kamakura was about an hour long.

First we walked along the street to the Tsurugaoka Hachiman-gu shrine.

Entrance to the shrine.

You can see omikuji vending machines to the bottom right of the picture.

A better look at the vending machine and stairs.

Using a map we obtained from the train station, we randomly picked the Sugimotodera shrine and traveled on foot hoping it to be one of those where you have to climb up some stairs in the woods or something since its icon on the map looked like so.

We walked a fairly long distance on foot.

And right after I took a shot of the view from the top, my camera displayed some scary red message before dying. I couldn’t look at the screen in time to see what it was about. So for the next series of pictures I used the really crappy camera on my Nokia E71.

Our next stop was the Daibutsu or Big Buddha statue.

We walked along the beach for some nice sea breeze. I think sand got blown onto my glasses and when I wiped it off scratches were left behind.

We also crossed a train crossing.

We got to the Daibutsu and took a brief walk inside it.

Then it was a half-hour train ride to Yokohama where I fell asleep and after waking up, felt dead beat.

This is the Landmark Tower in the Minato Mirai area.

I know of some good views of the ferris wheel and Minato Mirai skyline but there was no point traveling there or staying till nightfall as my camera was as good as dead. It was quite a waste as I finally managed to bring my tripod along. We walked to Chinatown where there wasn’t anything really special and we were quite full from our late lunch. By the late afternoon we went back to our hostel. I really wanted to stab myself when I found my camera battery.

2 thoughts on “Japan Trip: Day 10 – Kamakura, Yokohama and No Camera”

  1. Moral of the story: Be wary of fake batteries…

    Hmm, omikuji… reminds me of an attack in a Touhou-based fighting game where one girl throws explosive omikuji to the opponent.

    Sends the opponent flying to the other side of the screen. XD

    1. You’re right… The camera was my dad’s though.

      Man you’d be in heaven if you went to Akihabara… lots of Touhou stuff you’ll never get to buy anywhere else.

Leave a Reply

