1/100 Exia: Minor Details

I have been slacking around lately playing Super Robot Wars W (I’m slow but I already have SRW K) instead of reading my thick library book or working on the Exia, and every time when I do work on it, I take random photos and now I have to try to write a coherent post using the photos I have taken.

First, I did some minor seam line work on the head.

1/100 Gundam Exia

The face is held by the head which consists of two halves and a glaring seam line down the middle.

1/100 Gundam Exia

Unfortunately, the eyes are not made from clear parts. They are fixed inside the head with tabs. To remove the seam line, I cut the joining pegs down.

1/100 Gundam Exia

To allow me to fix the face after assembling the head, I had to cut the tabs on the eyes/chin part.

1/100 Gundam Exia

This is the same part viewed from the back. All the tabs have been cut down so I can slide the face from underneath the head.

1/100 Gundam Exia

The head is cemented together. This is standard seam line removal work. When the cement has dried, the plastic that has oozed out will be removed.

1/100 Gundam Exia

A shot of the head with the seam line removed. I have to try to work on the fins on the sides of the face later on.

I went on to work on the front skirt armour.

1/100 Gundam Exia

As the underside is hollow, I cut out a shaped piece of sheet styrene that covered the hole. This took over an hour to make and completing both sides spanned several nights.

1/100 Gundam Exia

My lack of skill in cutting rigid materials by hand resulted in a less than perfect fit. I will have to fill the gaps with epoxy putty.

I also tried my hand in scribing panel lines. The model is generally fairly detailed compared to the crap that is the Season 2 Gundams. Inspired by keita, I decided to add panel lines to the upper arms.

1/100 Gundam Exia

They’re not perfectly done, so the imperfections will be covered up using Tamiya putty.

1/100 Gundam Exia

The holes on the shield were covered using epoxy putty so that it at least looks like a solid shield rather than a handheld scaffolding. The top half is incomplete and shows the holes.

That’s it, until my next update.

Leave a Reply

