In Progress: 1/100 00 Gundam

1/100 00 Gundam

Here’s a quick shot of the 1/100 00 Gundam. It’s straight-built and the clear parts are not assembled except for the head. You can see how good the silver tape eyes are. Absolutely no photoshopping required. I also hand-painted the red clear sensor on the forehead but I may strip the paint and redo it with my airbrush.

1/100 00 Gundam

Front view with the light-up GN Drives.

1/100 00 Gundam

More shiny eye goodness.

1/100 00 Gundam

This blur picture was taken with only my room light on. The GN Drives messed the colour balance of the picture. You can also see light leaking from the peak of the cones. Bandai’s solution to that was to stick a black sticker over the LED.

I also spent over $50 SGD on the following supplies today:

  1. Mr. Color Leveling Thinner 400
  2. Mr. Surfacer 1000
  3. Tamiya Basic Putty
  4. Mr. Color Cobalt Blue
  5. Mr. Color Flat White
  6. Mr. Color Chrome Silver
  7. 3 x Mr. Spare Bottle

I had to waste cash on the 400ml bottle of thinner as the shop didn’t stock any kind of thinner in a metal container. I’m wondering if there’s a cheap alternative to Mr. Color Thinner. If I were using Tamiya Acrylic paints I could use alcohol, but I don’t think it mixes with Mr. Color paints. The Cobalt Blue is for the 00 Gundam. The colour seems just right, but I’m planning to try a slightly lighter hue. I decided to buy the Chrome Silver (which came with an awesome shiny label) because the shopkeeper claimed it was the shiniest variant of silver available. The Silver that I have just isn’t shiny enough.

My plans for this 00 Gundam may also include, apart from the slightly lighter colour scheme, the addition of waist articulation which Bandai omitted. Gotta get to work mixing colours and filling up my Mr. Spare Bottles…

edit: oh God WordPress just returned me a failure error when I tried publishing.

2 thoughts on “In Progress: 1/100 00 Gundam”

Leave a Reply

