HGUC Sazabi WIP 2.4

I’ve been really busy these few weeks and missed out last week’s update. I mentioned previously that I am reaching the end of this blog’s life as I will be moving to Japan for work. The really worrying thing right now which I never really announced is that I will be flying off at the end of this month, and all my models are still in the lurch. My company wasn’t really committed to finalising the details so I was really hoping for some kind of delay but everything went according to schedule. My progress on the Sazabi has been slow all this while even though I seem to be spending quite a bit of time on it. On the other hand I’m getting less free time by the day. I used to have to only work for half a day (just studying Japanese) but I’m reluctantly bidding farewell to my free half days off now.

I started working on the legs a few weeks ago but my motivation was totally killed when I realised I still had to do lots of epoxy work so I turned to the Joker. Unfortunately with so little time left I might not be able to finish painting it before I fly. For the legs of this guy I added some pla-plate to the shins but the shape of the lower legs meant that it was impossible to just bend more sheet styrene and glue them on ie. it’s epoxy or nothing. I initially thought the last of my epoxy could be used on the thighs but I had to go buy a new pack. I’m still in disbelief that I used up a whole pack of epoxy in such a short time.

20130824_025458

Of course, there was lots of sanding and multiple rounds of adding on more epoxy to finally get the shape I wanted. With exactly one week left before I was to fly off I decided to finally stop messing with this guy as I did not want to leave it unfinished for the next two years or so while I’m overseas. This is a pic I took at 3am on Saturday night. There isn’t much in terms of surface details so it still looks like a run-of-the-mill HG kit. Now I will have to rush through the painting and all the remaining steps. And I still haven’t started packing my stuff for the move. I am so not prepared right now. Oh dear.

2 thoughts on “HGUC Sazabi WIP 2.4”

Leave a Reply

